Ghazal

Below here is my first experiment with something of a ghazal form in English; I am not much aware of the nuances of ghazal writing in English but am excited about it being the first draft 🙂

What is wrong with your memory O’ Mardan
You’ve ceased to be my sanctuary O’ Mardan

I, the frost-bitten of a heart am often numb
Your warmth is my therapy O’ Mardan

Your ruins define you more than your buildings
Would you please change your story O’ Mardan

Your days are dour and blinding dusty
Yet your nights are twinkling starry O’ Mardan

Your bazaars hammer me with cacophony
For my heart you are a tranquil melody O’ Mardan

One thought on “Ghazal

Leave a Reply

