Excuse me, for yet another translation!

This blog is a beast
as it craves and craves to eat
thought after a poor thought
of my famished mind;
since I’m a person very kind,
I don’t hesitate to feed
it with trans-creations
of the others’ mind
to help it grow
with its greedy ways ..😛

The Decision

I too gave up

the desire to reach the shore.

I too resigned myself

to the rising tides.

I discarded the crutches of reliance.

I gathered the pieces

of my shattered self.

I stitched my shirt

[which was torn by passion]

from neck to bottom,

because,

I too was a human after all.

How long would I’ve fought

your perpetual indifference

with a handicapped self.

How long would I’ve watered

the arid land

of our relation

with the bucketfuls of my tears.

How long would I’ve blown

to ignite the extinguished coal

of your feelings;

of your passion.

How long would I’ve kept

afresh, the flowers of hope

in the vase of false expectations.

How long would I’ve burnt

my blood instead of oil

in the candles, that I kept lit

in waiting for you.

How long would I’ve searched

my traceless self

like a child,

in the lane of your memories.

I too was a human, after all;

I grew exhausted at last.

I could no longer carry

the burden of formalities

and excessive mannerism

over the feeble shoulders

of endurance;

I couldn’t make the sound

of a clap with a single palm.

I couldn’t won the battle of fate

with the power of mere tact.

Hence, I consulted my heart

and decided at last, that,

(To you be your way,

and to me mine*)

* Sura Alkafirun/ 109:6 of the Holy Quran

20 thoughts on “Excuse me, for yet another translation!

  1. Doesn’t matter as long as you share beautiful poems in translation with us! This is yet another wonderful poem. I especially liked:

    How long would I’ve fought
    your perpetual indifference
    with a handicapped self.
    How long would I’ve watered
    the arid land
    of our relation
    with the bucketfuls of my tears.

    Thanks for sharing it!🙂

    1. Thanks a lot! I translated these poems sometimes back and am glad they’re present on my computer so I present em before this blog when its done with the previous food, especially when I’m unable to synthesize my own thoughts🙂

  2. hmmm….it’s beautiful no doubt but it’s so painful…

    it’s never every easy to let go someone very near and dear for whon you lit your blood and shed your tears above over all…. that drenched the strength and leave only and only emptiness….

    1. Thanks!

      Yea letting go off a near one is always painful but sometimes bidding adieu is the only solution in a relation where there’s a constant pain of indifference from the other side.

  3. Nopes, words ought to breathe the life one breathes in one’s mind; they’re worthy if they’re lively even if they’re painful, for when they emerge, our inner suffocation lessens to a great extent.

  4. You don’t need to excuse at all! Its a wonderful, beautiful poem. Have read it quite a few times before replying. Could you also mention the original poem/poet?

  5. Asma Ahsan

    I couldn’t won the battle of fate

    with the power of mere tact.

    Hence, I consulted my heart

    and decided at last, that,

    (To you be your way,

    and to me mine*)

    Well said my friend.🙂

  6. Uni

    How long would I’ve watered

    the arid land

    of our relation

    with the bucketfuls of my tears.

    Amazing expression. Strikes home. Do share more of these. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

