I ask you, love, to judge by yourself!

Since I have not been able to write my mind of late, I’ve found it apt to try and translate someone else’, so here ‘s another R.K. Majrooh poem that might make to a collection of my translations to be included in his upcoming book of Pushto poetry.

la sta da ishq awo sta da meeney peeryan

ma na kooz shawe na dee

la sta da husn talismi asar na

za rawataley na yem

la me da wasl loogharhana tanda

yawa zara hum mata shawey na da

la me da shauq da lewantob abaseen

kha pa ghorzang rawan de

la me da zrha pa khudadad mumlikat

sta da yadoono raaj de

la da ghwagoono pa gumbad ke zama

sta da painzo awo da bangrho shranga da

la me da stargo da banho pa asman

da speno okhko kehkashan zaleegi

sara da de che pa safar ke da jwand

dasey muqam ta rasedaley yema

charta che da da mayentob khabarey

charta che da da lewantob khabarey

hess ehmiat na laree

hess haisiat na laree

dere sat-hee awo beymanee khkareegi

da qadar warho da qeemati asasey

koota seekey khkareegi

da hosh awo aqal Guantanamo Bay ke

bandey aksar mastey jazbey khkareegi

nu oos insaf pa ta de, waya kana!

che ta zama da lewantob de kaifiat ta aakhir

kom tanazur ke gorey

da taalluq da paidara awo zangarey jazba

ta da maayar pa koma tala taley ..

I’m still haunted

by the ghosts of your love

I’m not yet out of the trance

of your beauty

My lips are still parched

with the thirst of your union

The tides of my passion

still rise with the same ferosity

Your thoughts are still there

to rule over the land of my heart

The music of your anklets and bangles

still chime in my ears

A galaxy of crystalline tears still shines

on the tips of my lashes,

Though I’ve reached a certain place

in the journey of life, where

things like love and passion seem all

but shallow and meaningless;

where all those treasured assets

of the esteemed lovers

feel like useless coins,

like the fervor of love

imprisioned in the Guantanamo Bay

of reason,

yet I ask you, love, to judge by yourself!

How do you look at the state of my ardour?

Whats your criteria to discern

the strength and distinction of

my feelings for you?

10 thoughts on “I ask you, love, to judge by yourself!

    1. Hey, these aren’t my thoughts, I’ve just translated em. Thanks for your comment though. Yea things on my side are fine by the grace of Almighty; hope you’re fine as well🙂

      God bless!

    1. Thanks a lot🙂 I’ve found Pushto poetry to be very rich in romanticism, perhaps more than Urdu and English, and I’d second Ayesha’s (Alhamdolillah) remarks.

      I’d suggest you to try and have a look at some Pushto poetry and I’m sure you won’t be disappointed.

  1. Assalamoalaikum,

    Thank you for posting the Pushto pieces, it makes me feel proud of our heritage .

    Is this a modern poem? I think it sort of lacks what older poetry has.. the depth of understanding I guess, I am not a poet so dont know much but I, while reading the pushto part felt something missing in it, perhaps you as an active poet and translator may be able to point it out? Also there were many Urdu words in it…

    @ Ayesha, Pushto is a very “full” and rich language, when it comes to romanticism, very few languges compete with it, if you can understand pushto, then you’ll know. ..

    1. Wsalaam,

      Well, thanks for the point that you raised. It indeed is a contemporary poem written by a poet with modern sensibility whose poetry is characterized more by the beauty of the figurative language like similes and metaphors that he employs rather than the philosophical content. Having said that he doesn’t fall in the category of one dimensional poets as he has penned a variety of themes. I too like you wasn’t totally convinced with the cohesiveness of this piece but then one can’t expect every piece of poetry to be a masterpiece. Since it was a part of some 15 or so poems that I translated for publication, I put it here on this blog.

      Thank you for your worthy comment!🙂

  2. Love is not at all easy to climb upon the highest peak of LOVE MOUNTAIN…..

    yes heart pumps like river flowing in valley of amusement but thorns are always there to pinch…..

    Pinch like everything …. nothing beyond…

    Good job done Aadil…. 🙂

  3. Nice one🙂 Though I can’t speak or understand Pastho at all, I sometimes like Rahim Shah’s songies in Pashto😛 but, yeah this one was nice translated N sweet meaning – Love; somethin that can never actually be described only felt.

  4. Yes, Rahim Shah has popularized this language to quite an extent; did you hear his latest song ‘mama dey’? .. If not, do listen to this fun-filled song, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it🙂

    As for the love thingy, I quite agree with what you have to say.
    Thanks a lot for your comment and liking the poem!🙂

Leave a Reply

