Death Of Ideas

My laments on the states of ‘poemlessness’ or ‘writers block’ have become sort of cliche as I still crave for a smooth flow of ideas to my mind onto the pen and paper. Every now and then I try to break those shackles but the results seem way below my satisfaction. The poem below is another of my desperate efforts with the same result, I fear. Whats different though, is the amalgamation of a Chinese proverb in the poem, that says ‘Keep a green tree in your heart and perhaps a singing bird will come’. My usage of the idea might not seem appropriate but what else is? So I’ll keep my fingers crossed for better things to come.

In a desperate state
I laid the brain-trap
to catch any of the
ideas flapping
around my thoughts
fanning my longing,
evading my lap.

A poem-bird
came perching
to pick a speck of the
scattered grain
ignorant of the snare,
was entangled;
it writhed and bled

before falling dead
adding to the carcasses
of a few more
lying on the cold floor
of my mind.

Had I grown
a green tree of wisdom
in my heart, I would be
a happy abode
for the singing
birds of creativity
rather than a graveyard
of broken muses
that I am.

40 thoughts on “Death Of Ideas

  1. I love the analogies in your poems, Aadil — I guess I ve said that before !🙂
    I like the poem, although I would disagree with some lines like these:
    “lying on the cold floor
    of my mind” &

    “a graveyard
    of broken muses
    that I am”

    , in reference to you. Seriously, I can’t understand why you under-estimate yourself (and in a way that’s like telling your readers: you people have poor taste since you read my poetry). Please, don’t do this ! please !🙂 Your work has been published on a no of occasions and honestly I d feel so much better if I ‘ever’ get published !
    I love the way you write and I’d feel bad if you say poor things about your work again. There, comply now ! I can be bad !😛

    ps: One lil suggesion: ‘I’ think you should rephrase 3rd and 7th lines — I’ve problem with words ‘any of the’ and ‘lap’ in those lines.

    1. Now I won’t agree with your parenthesized assumption; I rather crave to write something that could at least be somewhere near to the standards set by the works of my worthy visitors (you the obvious)😉

      What you termed ‘under-estimation’ might just be a bit of realism but since you ‘ordered’ me to stay away from that particular line of thinking I’ll try not to drift too much towards it🙂 Gracias mucho! ..
      One thing more: my boss wrote in my yearly performance appraisal recently ‘a brilliant worker who under-estimates himself’ .. am I really like that? .. serious things to ponder upon!

      I love the last two lines of your comment; will surely work on it. I’m grateful, my friend!🙂

  2. Interesting incorporation of the proverb. Always like how you express your thoughts in poetry. But while you’re suffering from ‘poemlessness’, you should try your hand at prose!

    1. Thank you so much! Writing prose will be too tough an ask for me, I guess; I’ve tried it on occasions. There’s no harm trying it for learning purposes though. A good suggestion🙂

  3. /…that could at least be somewhere near to the standards set by the works of my worthy visitors (you the obvious)…/
    you did that again ! See, i was right…and so is your boss. I agree with every word that he wrote bout you. And yea… ‘serious things to ponder upon’ shud be ‘seriously’ pondered upon.
    And btw when I said ‘I cant seem to write anything myself’, I meant it genuinely. The poem you re referring to is the only poem i ve written in about 33 days !

    1. I don’t think thats got something with ability not to write that frequently ; quality ought to be preferred over quantity and you’re doing it the best way😉

  4. to me it matters that who is talking, not what is being talked so if someone is in my bookmarks, all sort of bongian are belkumed.🙂

    Kidding, laiken I must say keh quantity & quality mein balance hona chaiye…

    The chinese proverb is beautiful in itself & then absorbed very well by the poem….

    finally, I just want to let you know (no tabsara & response is required) that I ‘3rd’ Cav. & your Boss. But It is very much possible that the impression goes in writing only. vaisay bhi blogs & online interactions represent very less % of someone’s personality.

    1. We most often are talking bongian hence we’re attracted to your easygoing company😉

      Its difficult to maintain a fine balance between quality and quantity, though ..

      Thanks🙂

      I won’t tabsara or response on the last part of your comment (this line shouldn’t be considered a comment)😉

  5. Assalamoalaikum

    mashaAllah a nice poem, a great analogy, although can I ask something?

    the last few lines are:
    had I grew?

    should it be had I grown?

    Well, i cant say it was a happy shappy poem again:p

    Loved it!!!

    1. Waalaikum Assalam!

      Thanks🙂 I’m glad you picked the error; it should have been ‘grown’ instead of ‘grew’. I’ve edited the poem accordingly.

      Yes, it wasn’t a happy shappy one but I can’t help it I guess, I can’t force myself to write something that I’m not feeling😦

      Your prayers are needed!🙂

  6. No one can write ANYTHING without them truly feeling it… I didn;t mean for you to write somethingforcefully but it wasa tip.. try and thin to yourself when you are happy, and then concentrate on it like you do on your feelings when you are lone, pensive or sad..

    It use to happen to me when I wrote poetry many many years ago…Then i started thinking and concentrating on my happy moments and it would be so nice to read back and relive those moments, Alhamdolillah,may Allah give you happiness, ameen🙂

  7. ohh that’s kind of impossible because I not only gave up writing but trashed all of the ones i HAD written, I hvae found one or two and sometimes I write a poem after a few years but that’s it. InshaAllah will share it on the blog if I wrote something..:)

    1. Theek! yes someone else suggested as well that it should be ‘the death of ideas’ or ‘death of ideas’ rather than ‘death of the ideas’ so i’m gonna change it. okey!😛

  8. Hope you write something happy, something full of …hope, life, rebirth of content. Something perhaps which you should write after a rainy evening while eating chilled mangoes while you converse with an old friend…

  9. Ah, what a scenario, eating chilled mangoes sitting by the window with the rain outside …like the scene I’ve witnessed a few times in an Aabpara refreshment center sitting in the second floor by the window overlooking the green trees swaying with the breeze amid the rain, and the people scurrying about for shelter from rain.

    The heavens in Islamabad are grey and I so expect another encounter like that!🙂 Hope they’ll motivate me to write.

  10. InshaAllah. At that time bask it all in, take a deep breath, and close your eyes and think I you’re in heaven, then think of all the blessings you have from Allah. If you’re with a freind, keep the eyes open :p but later on write about it , recall the freshness, the smell of the mud as it mixes with rain, it’s rebirth of life, ideas, cleaning of soul.. I know its “pashakaal” ( sawaan, rain season) in Peshawar these days, although sometimes humid, it has been a source of ideas for me , always..

    1. I often do the same; my family members know I’m crazy bout the rainy seasons. When a young boy I’d go out on my bicycle whenever it would rain and would ride through the streets and roads in mardan soaking all in the rain and would come back to be scolded by my mother for letting myself in danger of fever:P Baranoona whether da pashakal or da jamii would always fascinate me and still they hold the magic for my senses.
      The sky’s no different today, the only difference is my state of mind that’s somehow affected by the harsh external factors in a way that I sometimes, just sometimes forget to bask in the beautiful surroundings when nature’s in a mood of exhibition.

  11. I can understand… Sometimes you’d rather hide your tears in the rain.. khu za, kala na kala har sa hirawa aur ao bus zaan khushalawa…

    Sometimes we should just forget it all… May Allah give you lots and lots of happiness🙂

  12. Seems like you’re still out of ideas,

    how’s that possible, maybe you’re aslep when walking to work or the supermarket? :p

    There are hundreds of ideas ou there.. perhaps not all about love though😀

    1. lolls .. you know what, I’m very frustrated with this severe infertility of thoughts of late which has never been the case with me in the past😦 I started a poem last night but was stuck somewhere in the middle and I dunno how to finish it; the ideas intermingle with the work load at my office and I’m disgusted.

      A walk to the supermarket increases my frustrations😉

  13. Ayesha

    Reading that poem doesn’t make the reader feel even for a second that you are suffering from any sort of writer’s block! And see how the theme of writer’s block gave birth to such a wonderful poem! Keep trying and writing🙂

Leave a Reply

