Pushto Hykos In Translation

Original In Pushto By Rahim Khan Majrooh

Translated By Syed Aadil Omer

1)

True; the threats of floods are there

But I’ll keep planting flowers by the river

For, who’s relinquished life in fright of death?

2)

Just to keep my feel alive

I wash my wounds with salty water,

Lest, who’d choose to inflict pain upon oneself!

3)

Peace grows not like the wild seeds of mustard

On each the barren land

It needs the moisture of Justice with a thorough sprinkle

4)

Why do you hurl stones at the mirror

Upon seeing the strands of gray in your locks

Time’s not like Rahim Khan, O’ my naïve dear!

9 thoughts on “Pushto Hykos In Translation

  1. Just to keep my feel alive

    I wash my wounds with salty water,

    Lest, who’d choose to inflict pain upon oneself!
    !
    !
    beauuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuutiful!
    Please keep sharing these beautifully translated PUSHTU hykos with us🙂

  2. Pingback: Pushto Hykos In Translation | Tea Break

  3. I’ve not read the originals in Pushto but I’m sure you ve done full justice to em.
    And you ve been very intelligent with your selection too. I can’t pick one out of these nd say it’s the best.
    I wish I could take up translation too but it’s not my forte.
    Keep sharing such works !🙂

  4. @ nick .. Thank you🙂

    @ MZ .. Kya baat hay aap kay comments ki🙂

    @ Zain .. Thank a lot! Welcome to my blog🙂

    @ Cav .. I wish you could understand Pushto, then I’d have sent you the originals which are very classy. Thanks for the comment!🙂

    @ Ayesha .. Its a nice surprise to see you after a long time🙂 Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

