A ride on the back of time

541646505_bc780d8052I jumped onto the helm of time
and held the reins of desires
to start off a journey.

A mere trot changed
into racing gallops and it
shuffled each of the sights
I laid my gaze on, keeping
the thirst of my eyes unquenched.
I was shaken off my seat
every time the earth raised
its slumbering head under its hoofs.
Amid the chaos, wishes
turned into curses

I showed time the way,
but it brought me here instead;
to the brink of a world
colored in Grey, raring
to take me along to
the darker shades of obscurity.

Photo Courtesy: http://www.flickr.com

15 thoughts on “A ride on the back of time

  1. A leisurely walk changed
    into racing gallops and it
    pushed back each of the
    sights, I laid my gaze on.

    Doesn’t it happen to all of us, at one time or the other? Instead of taking things slow, we chose to take long strides and stumble.

    Well written, Aadil. The white horses in that picture look magicalπŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: A ride on the back of time | Tea Break

  3. @ shivya .. Thanks a lot!πŸ™‚ The header sort of symbolize my state of mind these days .. intense … hoping for a resounding appearance of optimism amid the darker shades of Grey.πŸ™‚

    @ nadia sis .. Yes, it happens to most of us!πŸ™‚ I’m glad you pointed out some sort of lesson between the lines, which I didn’t intend to portray thoughπŸ™‚

  4. kashkin

    I showed time the way,
    but it brought me here, instead;
    to the brink of a world
    colored in Grey, raring
    to take me along to
    the darker shades of obscurity.

    ONE OF THE BEST…Aadil these compositions are definitely leading you towards finding a peace and for us to realise that amongst us we have an individual who will ride on horses of time to deal with the phantoms of past and present…….

    well done and keep up the good work… I love the metaphors and their usage to keep the poem in its form and the message…

  5. @ kashkin … I’ll never ask for more! Your words are a gift so precious that I’ll keep them with myself whenever I’m down in inspiration.πŸ™‚ So very thanks!

  6. Nayni

    Beauuuuuuutiful!!!

    I showed time the way,
    but it brought me here, instead;
    to the brink of a world
    colored in Grey…..

    We can enjoy the brightness and colours of the DAY more only if we have experienced the ‘darkness’ and ‘horror’ of NIGHT. We would be more thankful for the blessings of God when our life would be having all the colours except GREY.πŸ˜€
    Time is a great ‘horse’ . It takes us to ‘everywhere’ but the only problem is that it does not follow our ‘routes’ hehehehe .πŸ˜‰

  7. Cavaliere

    Aadil bhayya apki poetry din-ba-din nikhar rahi hai !πŸ™‚
    “To the brink of a WORLD COLOURED IN GRAY” —— the line depicts ingenuity of your mind. I love the expression !πŸ™‚

  8. BAckkk after a short break…lots of changes at ur blog aadil..and i’m happy to see a change in ur writings too..quite positive and optimistic…u write awesome..keep the optimistic spirit intact..bless you.

  9. Asma Ahsan

    Aadi – that is an excellent poem!!!

    Amid the chaos, wishes
    turned into curses

    That is just too true!!

    Very well written!πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

