My sources of pleasure!

This ‘tagging’ thing is very much ‘In’ in the blogsphere these days. Our fellow blogger Ayesha was tagged to describe at least three things that please her. After an impressive description of hers, she handed me the task to reveal mine.

While I do like gadgets for serving the purpose of our necessity, it can’t match the bliss I take in;

1) The Company Of My Little Nieces: Maheen 4, Abeera 2, and Zunaira 2 are what innocence and joy are all about. I’m happy when Maheen calls me ‘edil mamoo janoo‘ , she pronounces my name starting with E which sounds cute when she utters it. Abeera is very quick in learning new words. She replies ‘Delly’ when asked about what should I buy her. She of course means ‘Jelly’. And Zunaira .. she must be the most shy child of this world. She cannot stare me in eyes always burying her head in my lap.

2) Reading: I have always craved to be an avid reader but I haven’t been, courtesy a plethora of reasons with the most obvious being my lack of reading concentration, yet I take pleasure in reading albeit in shorter whiles. Reading poetry is more intoxicating to me for poetic words stir something in my soul for good. I don’t wanna mention a particular book here coz different writers with a variety of flavors have pleased me over the years. I’m a reverer of greats like Rumi, Rehman Baba, Khalil Gibran, Ghalib, Iqbal, Faiz, Faraz, Mohsin Naqvi and Amjad but am more interested these days in reading Pakistani english poets for they blend Pakistaniat in a universal language.

3) Cricket: It might seem an abberration to some but cricket has made me happy, if sports have anything to do with happiness. They say I was good as an opening batsman when I was a school going kid but my cricketing wings were clipped shortly after I represented my college in a few games. The reason was my dejected elder brother who made it to the Quaid-e-Azam trophy, the foremost domestic tournament at the time but was stopped to go further courtesy the lack of a backing; a pre-requisite in so many fields here. Yet, I follow the game with passion and watch it seriously.

Now, Kashkin and Nadia are tagged for the same๐Ÿ™‚

14 thoughts on “My sources of pleasure!

  1. Asma

    Awwww – I love the kids too – they are soooo cute!

    nazar lagti hai – itni tasweerein naa lagaaya karo.

    Good to know you like books – kahin dost editors to nahin hain๐Ÿ˜›

    As for cricket – the one part of my education that is a total blank – We used to read books and play with dolls and games on homemaking, stitching, knitting, crochet, making kids clothes – all girl stuff๐Ÿ˜›

    I just play basketball, and used to cycle a lot – but if my husband wishes at times, I do understand the basics of cricket – Cant play it at all๐Ÿ˜›

    Lawn tennis I like to watch on TV.

  2. Thanks a lot Asma! pictures .. I thought it will give me a chance to look at them while I’m here away from all๐Ÿ™‚

    Books .. yes a man is recognized by the company he keeps!๐Ÿ˜€

    Sports … cycling is a very cool sport and basket ball’s obviously a very interesting game. You must be master in umoor-e-khana dari courtesy the things you mentioned to have learned. Lucky Mr. Ahsan๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pingback: My sources of pleasure! | Tea Break

  4. kashkin

    Hey Aadil
    Beautiful and lucid description on this topic. Considering i have been “tagged” by you, I will have to come up with something as well.

  5. Asma

    Hmm…Mr Ahsan is the motor bike, harley davidson type – he is least interested in my talents – except what he gets to eat when he gets home –๐Ÿ˜›

    My jaani is a simple guy – its easy to live with him.

    He has to eat at once, or is in depression the whole day – food is all they think about in the head๐Ÿ˜›

  6. Yay, I got tagged! I love playing tags. My latest post is about Guilty Pleasures, please consider that as the reply to this tag๐Ÿ™‚

    Those little girls are absolutely cute and pretty, MashaAllah. Allah unhein buri nazar se bachaaye, Ameen.

    Thanks for the tag, bro!

  7. @Asma .. you too are lucky to have the type of hubby๐Ÿ˜€
    Yes .. Abeera .. she is very naughty .. she tries to frighten me from her toy bear calling baoo .. baooo ..๐Ÿ™‚

    @nadia .. yes I read your guilty pleasure๐Ÿ˜€ .. enjoyed them …
    thanks for the prayers and comment!๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Ayesha

    That was wonderful!

    And mashAllah the girls are very cute! And why is that all those months I thought all these photos are of the same kiddo๐Ÿ˜•

    No doubt, the company of nieces and nephews can beat nothing. Same goes for reading.

    As for cricket, I was very passionate about it but it’s standard has been declined like everything else in Pakistan.

    That was an interesting read!๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

