Sharing My Weirdy Ways!

Earlier Nadia and more recently Ayesha tagged me to share 7 things that I find weird about myself. People around me in the physical world term me an epitom of complete weirdness but what I find strange about myself are;

1. I am annoyingly sharing with my family when it comes to the expression of day to day happenings in my life. I have been carrying this trait of sharing personal matters since early childhood when every evening I would assume the role of a tape recorder narrating the events of our cricket matches. Now my fortnight visits back home are stuffed with lots of things to share.

2. Would you belive I didn’t have a math note book in my 10th class. I was so pathetic in mathematics that I got numbers below the passing marks yet I was passed, mistakenly perhapes🙂 I did better in the other disciplines though!

3. Excessive load shedding have started me to hate darkness otherwise I have always liked random electricity offs. I would find it very soothing and calm lying in my darkened room, eyes closed introspecting. I just love to switch off the lights every now and then and listen to some soothing music.

4. They have always said I live in a deam world. I’m too much idealistic I guess. I can remeber the days when I used to internet chat like crazy bearing the constant scolding of my family, I almost forgot the existence of a physical world shutting off all my social contacts. Then I consciously tried to normalize things a bit.

5. My inclination towards Pakistani pop/rock music made me weird among my fellows given the envoironment I grew up in. Most of my fellows didn’t know the names of the singers I used to admire.

6. Coming back to internet, I never asked anyone the most used chatting question ‘ASL’ .. I never cared about it. I take pride in the fact that I tried to promote pakistaniat to my bit even at the cost of sarcastic remarks from a few.

7. I just love sweets🙂 I mean whether its the bakery stuff, chocolates, confectionaries, sweet dishes .. whatever .. I love to savour em .. In my childhood I loved mitchels tofees and my craze for sweets was even judged by our neighboring shop keeper who would start to count the ill effects of sweets on our body etc which made me change the shop to buy sweets🙂

Now its the turn of MZ and Kashkin to reveal theirs.

23 thoughts on “Sharing My Weirdy Ways!

  1. Ayesha

    Hahahaha! That was fantastic Aadil!

    Ok you like to share your everyday happenings and I would feel irritated when someone would ask me after coming back from school “roaz de sanga tair sho” (How was your day?) I never liked to share daily routine unless there was something really special or worth telling😆

    Math?! Don’t even ask me😥

    It was 1999 when I used to visit Yahoo Chat Rooms too much, made some good friends… with the introduction of India and Pakistan rooms the nasty war of the worlds kicked off. I saw some really provocative, abusive stuff (regarding Islam) and vowed not to visit again.

    ASL!!!… goodness me I hate it😡

    I prefer salty things over sweet. But when it comes to chocolates… I am all for it😀

    That was really nice… and not weird at all😛

  2. Thanx Ayesha for finding me not that weird🙂
    I started chating probably during the same time. I too frequented those Pakistani and Indian rooms. I was more interested in hotmail chat rooms which were later banned for free chatters. I can still remeber nicks like daku rani, aasmani kabootar, shaitaan and lots .. lolls…

  3. Pingback: Sharing My Weirdy Ways! | Tea Break

  4. Asma

    There is one habit that Aadil forgot to mention. When you leave a comment on a friends blog, you dont go back to check if they left an answer…hmmm…you should check…

  5. Asma

    us say kaho keh do garhi, hum say woh aa milay kabhi,
    mana keh ye muhal hay, itna muhal bhi nahi!

    Now where did I read that??? I forget…

  6. Hehe, nice one, Aadil! When I used to chat at yahoo back when I was young and single, I too never asked for the ASL. It didn’t really matter to me. I just wanted a decent conversation.

    You actually liked random electricity offs?! Now, that’s weird😀

  7. @Asma … In real world I lost a few friends due to my ill resiprocality. I would expect them to visit me but would hardly visit them. Its another of my weirdness. I got the point you intended in your comment🙂 Waisay, I do get a lot disturbed when someone disturbs a picture I create about someone in my mind. Anyways, thanx a lot for your comments and visiting🙂

    @ Nadia .. its means most of us were decent chatters🙂 I know my liking for darkness is totally against yours when you switch on all the lights in the evening🙂

    @ neilian .. but I wasn’t a poet when I was a child🙂
    I know pakistani pop is quite popular in India as well ..🙂
    Thanx for commenting!

  8. kashkin

    brilliant

    The attributes of sharing, Maths, Load shedding, the old idealism, Music, Internet and Sweets.

    I throughly enjoyed reading these and also your last line like a relay race passing the baton off to MZee and myself. As I thought, I was thinking of those habits in a poetic form. The first poem after going through a syndrome called ” absentia”.

    Sharing is always good, without this, there is no completion as a person. Be it personal experiences, knowledge or whatever one’s heart desires.

    I was actually pretty good in Maths. Infact, so good and so focussed I was that I forgot my Maths B paper in FSc. Arrived there at the college, a day later to my horror and surprise that the exam had already taken place.🙂

    This idealism of yours have remained with me as well in its various forms and disguises.

    Music..now this is gonna sound really strange.I used to listen to the music completely different what my contempararies were listening to. From Pathanay Khan to Abba, from Pink Floyd to Leanord Cohen, from Lata to the classical opera, from Sehgal to Henryk Gorecki, and from Nusrat to Beethoven and from Vital signs to Spanish Carmen and the music of the gysies and from Ali Azmat Na re Nay to Enigma, Africian musicians, Peter Gabriel and all the rest.

    On Internet, the story is a similar to what you, Ayesha and others have presented. If someone would ask ASL, my response always used to be Angry Sri Lankan :)…..

    and Sweets…only gulab jamans, and Kit kat…only occasionally..Mostly prefer salty stuff…

    And now let me offer you the poem🙂

  9. kashkin

    My Habits

    I have none but what derived from others
    I have none but innate and taken from nature
    It changes as they change, it remains as
    Other remain, in whirlpool of existence
    It travels with me like the old ravines
    From Indus to Amazon, from Nile to Kinhar
    I do not complain, I do not remain in anger

    Resident in me, million and one characters
    My ego is asleep, they say, in appearance
    I am your reflection of what you are and say
    Found in mosaics and walls, in the old pacific
    I have no habits, good or bad, just there
    Tools of existence and communication
    It changes as they change, in appearance

    I am in rotation as the earth shifts its burdens
    From one place to another, from days to nights
    Remains in me, my old self, for conversations
    I am in my simplicity like you and others
    My friends, my fellow beings from
    One corner to other, as I travel
    I have grown too fond not to refuse
    What is on offer and to learn?

    I am asleep in my existence but awake
    In this world with others, for drama and life
    Of all those habits that make our composition
    Of you and me, of them and us,
    Words are my habits, words are my friends
    I remain in love with saints and sinners
    As I remain in my quest, to become human!

    Kashkin

  10. nayni

    @ Aadil

    – I hate Maths too …I don’t know how I managed to get A grade in it … ( I think I was afraid of ammi’s jotian hehehe)

    – If we talk about to love ‘loadshedding’ then we are ‘raqeeb’😉 T know more read it😛😉

    http://nayni.wordpress.com/2008/01/02/loadshedding-in-pakistan/

    – Me too live in dream world

    – hehehehe # Pakistan …I used to join # Pakistan & # Islam on mIRC in 1997& 1998 .. but after that …..:-)

    – I LOVE sweets…. I cannot live without ‘meetha’

    It was good to know about you🙂

  11. @ Kashkin .. Thanx for your lovely comments! The poem’s beatufil I liked your traits especially the music part. Checked my comment on your blog too🙂
    @Nayni .. apart from the hatred for maths, we share another trait too and thats the political science thing .. did I tell you?🙂
    mirc .. hmm .. I rarely chatted there as I didn’t like mirc much😦 the reason being it would flooded by fake chatters.
    hmm … sweets .. thats good ..🙂
    Thanx for commenting!

  12. that was awsome
    btw do u know wat 7 + 3768 – 34 – 75*20 / 168 + 45 = ?

    mitchels tofees…..oh dat i use to live on ’em
    aawww its been years n year i didnt taste ’em
    😦

  13. kashkin

    I used to teach Maths here in the University of London. I remember being in the second year, and boy oh boy algebra and differential equations was a nightmare for most of the students..

    we used to have surgery session called ” The abstract model of Universe” by me for a year or so. The deal was I will teach Maths and they will bring me cigarettes….:)

  14. Shah Ji, nothing weird (Thanx Ayesha for finding him not that weird:) ) , [perhaps you have not told weirdy stuff about you yet:D]
    Coincidently Titanic and PC thing of Ayesha happened with me as well.
    The most I like about this thread is kashkin’s comments:
    I remember I paid pack of cigarettes to my teacher for teaching me Theoretical Computer Science and I had earned a lot of packs while teaching Algorithms at UAAR Rawalpindi.

    love those cigs and miss those students.

  15. @ khawab .. according to the qanoon-e-archimedis the answer to your question is 0 because the positive and negative forces are neutralizing each other ..😆

    @ Asma .. images are made and remade for improvement so who knows if the new one is replaced by a more improved one ..🙂

    @ MZ .. I know your mathematics prowess .. waisay we’re two completely opposite personalities yet we’re friends .. weird isn’t it? ..🙂

    @ Kashkin .. interesting .. the abstract model of universe ..🙂

    @ Now .. am missing the could be together iftaris while you’re behraining ..🙂

    @ Yes shivya … listen to Junoon, Vital signs, Ali Azmat, EP, Aaroh, Karawan, Jal, Atif, Fuzon, Meekal Hasan Band, Strings, and you’ll feel how versatile the pakistani music scene is.🙂

Leave a Reply

