Summer Eventides

No matter how soaring the temperatures might get in the morning, I just love the summer evenings. The soothing shades extended by a dying sun hold a perfect lure for people to come out and take some sighs of relief from the scorching sun beams. I too am frequently stimulated by such a lure which I gladly accept as well courtesy my inclination to breath in open airs.

These days I’m loving my evening routine when I prefer to walk back hostel from job; a walk of about half an hour. On my way I come across children enjoying themselves playing cricket in the wider lanes of I-8 which constantly reminds me of our carefree childhood when cricket used to be the most important thing in our lives. A little more further a couple of caged pet dogs sitting in front of a house start growling and barking as if I have done them an enormous wrong. I wave at them happy with the thought that they are leashed. Going past the play ground I silently admire a good save by a hockey goal keeper practicing his skills, or a tiny football player showing some good dodging techniques. Next comes the market place where a bakery serves spicy cholay samosas quite hard to resist. Enjoying a plate of samosa or chat I share a good laugh with one of the workers who happens to be a very pleasant talker except when he calls me khan saab. The remaining distance of 10 or so minutes is spent in a bit of a self meditation as I discuss lots with me; the best friend of mine. I forgot to mention the company of the mild evening breeze which is showing quite permanently these days hearing my talk and whispering the songs of nature and beauty into my ears. My euphoria ends when I reach my blacked out room hit by the nuisance of load shedding.

9 thoughts on “Summer Eventides

  1. Pingback: Summer Eventides | Tea Break

  2. salam Aadil, yar missing the same way,woh lamhey bht yad aatey hain jab 11 baje rat ko meri duty end hoti thi n sardion main barish ho rahi hoti thi n mian apni bike pe us barish mian same route se aya jaya kerta tha that was, simply I love that moments.wahan aik gali mian school se pehlay qabrstan hai bht dar lagta tha main bike tez ker leta tha, and intersting thig main aur aur madni saheb(u know him very well) aik rat ko duty kay bad taqreeban 1 baje a rahey thay sardion ki ratain thi wahan se niklenay k bad green belt start hoti hai wo achanak bolay wo dekho pig ja rehain hain jab main dekhta to mje nazer na aye. Green belt k bad hm right turn ata hai ham bike pe thay wo pechay betha hwa tha. Right turn kay thora agey aik gali main left murna tha us chowk main road kay darmian aik awara kutta betha huwa tha main ne sharartan pas ja ker achanak agli break lagai n zor se bola soor,soor… kutta be bhokna shuru ho gia. Tab madni saheb ki jo situation thi aik dam us ne bike se chalag lagai n dharam se neechay. mera has has k bura hal. yar those daz were wonderful , just missing

  3. Murtaza … quite an interesting tale you have tell. There is so much construction going around the area these days. The ‘Qabristan’ there is quite scary especially when one passes through it during night time.
    Thanx for likingthe header!

    UTP … come here and we will discuss it may be with some friend ..

  4. nayni

    Bakery seems very “interesting” place on the way back to your hostel🙂

    Nice description of summer evening …

Leave a Reply

