A poem of love..

My admiration for the poetry of Amjid Islam Amjid is extreme and I’ll love to translate some of his poems in English, my lose grip on the language notwithstanding. Neverthless, I’ve extracted my share of pleasure from whatever I’m posting here. It is hoped the honourable poet wouldn’t mind this rather immaturish effort;
Mohabbat ki aik Nazm
A poem of Love

When I’m remembered,
In the soft, enchanting gleam,
Of the moonlit sky,
Just gaze upon a star,
If it breaks apart,
and falls at your feet,
Understand!
It as a metaphor of my heart,
If it doesn’t,
But how is it possible?
For something not to break apart,
Not to be oblivious of itself,
After receiving your glance.

Whenever I’m remembered,
Put a hand on the hesitant,
Currents of air,
I’ll be found in the fragnance,
Search for me in the petals of roses,
And I’ll be found in the mirrors of dew drops.

When to see a lit candle,
Understand,
Me to have burned with each fly,
You, with your hands put the ashes,
Of the burned flies,
Into the river,
Becoming dust, I’ll wander across the oceans,
Halting over an unseen island,
I’ll be calling for you,
While you set off on the voyage of oceans,
Just land on that island too,
Just land on that island too..

10 thoughts on “A poem of love..

  1. A great poem, indeed…

    ‘When I’m remembered’ wouldn’t be better ‘When I be remembered’? (when someone remember me on the future) I could be saying an stupid thing because I don’t know a word on the original language but I have though that It has more sense to me, else I will have to read it more carefully…

  2. Hi Aadil – I like it very much – Its on your pages now in my site as well!

    Hello imigueldiaz – I visited your pages – couldnt understand a word there but you have a very artistic header on the page – very nice!

  3. Kashkin

    Its a beautiful poem by AAA and equally beautiful this translation Aadi…..

    beautiful effect of these words:

    When to see a lit candle,
    Understand,
    Me to have burned with each fly,
    You, with your hands put the ashes,
    Of the burned flies,
    Into the river,
    Becoming dust, I’ll wander across the oceans,
    Halting over an unseen island,
    I’ll be calling for you,
    While you set off on the voyage of oceans,
    Just land on that island too,
    Just land on that island too..

Leave a Reply

